City of York Council

Resolutions and proceedings of the Meeting of the City of York Council held in The Citidal, Gillygate, York on Wednesday, 22nd May, 2019, starting at 11.00 am

Present: The Lord Mayor Cllr Ketih Orrell in the Chair during the first part of the meeting; the Lord Mayor Councillor Janet Looker in the Chair during the second part of the meeting and the following Councillors:

Acomb Ward	Bishopthorpe Ward
S Barnes Lomas	Galvin
Clifton Ward	Copmanthorpe Ward
D Myers Wells	Carr
Dringhouses & Woodthorpe Ward	Fishergate Ward
Fenton Mason Widdowson	D'Agorne D Taylor
Fulford and Heslington Ward	Guildhall Ward
Aspden	Craghill Fitzpatrick
Haxby & Wigginton Ward	Heworth Ward
Cuthbertson Hollyer Pearson	Douglas Perrett
Heworth Without Ward	Holgate Ward
Ayre	K Taylor Melly

Hull Road Ward	Huntington and New Earswick
	Ward
Pavlovic Musson Norman	Cullwick Runciman
Micklegate Ward	Osbaldwick and Derwent Ward
Crawshaw Baker Kilbane	Rowley Warters
Rawcliffe and Clifton Without Ward	Rural West York Ward
Smalley Wann Waudby	Barker Hook
Strensall Ward	Westfield Ward
Doughty Fisher	Hunter Waller Daubeney
Wheldrake Ward	
Vassie	

Also in attendance, Hon. Alderman Keith Wood, David Wilde, Jonathan Morley, Madeleine Kirk, Richard Watson, David Horton, Ken King and Brian WJE Watson.

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Heaton and Webb

1. Declarations of Interest

Members were invited to declare at this point in the meeting any personal interests not included on the Register of Interests, any prejudicial interests or any disclosable pecuniary interests they might have in the business on the agenda. None were declared.

2. Appointment of Lord Mayor

Councillor Crawshaw moved and Councillor Galvin seconded and the Council unanimously

Resolved: That Councillor Janet Looker be elected Lord Mayor of the City of York for the ensuing municipal year.

3. Qualification of Lord Mayor

Councillor Janet Looker signified Acceptance of the Office of the Lord Mayor of the City of York, subscribed the declaration of such acceptance and took the Affirmation of Allegiance prescribed by the law in that behalf.

4. Appointment of Sheriff

Councillor Ayre moved and Councillor Barnes seconded and the Council unanimously

Resolved: That Mr Dafydd Williams be appointed Sheriff of the City of York for the period 22 May – 25 July 2019 and that Mrs Jo Trythall be appointed Sheriff of the City of York for the remainder of the municipal year.

5. Qualification of Sheriff

Mr Dafydd Williams made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Sheriff for the City of York Council and took the Affirmation of Allegiance prescribed by law in that behalf.

6. Appointment of Deputy Lord Mayor

Councillor Looker as Lord Mayor moved and Councillor Aspden seconded and the Council unanimously

Resolved: That Councillor Keith Orrell be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor for the ensuing municipal year.

7. Qualification of Deputy Lord Mayor

Councillor Keith Orrell made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Deputy Lord Mayor of the City of York and took the Oath of Allegiance prescribed by law.

8. Vote of Thanks to Outgoing Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress

Councillor Cullwick moved and Councillor Fitzpatrick seconded and Council unanimously

Resolved: That the Council express its sincere thanks to the outgoing Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress for their services to the city during the past municipal year

9. Under Sheriff

The Sheriff advised Council that Dorothy Nott had been chosen to serve as Under Sheriff during this year of office and expressed his thanks to her for undertaking this service to the City.

10. Vote of Thanks to Outgoing Sheriff and Sheriff's Consort

Councillor Aspden moved and Councillor D Taylor seconded and the Council unanimously

Resolved: That the Council expressed its sincere thanks to the outgoing Sheriff and Sheriff's Consort for their services to the city during the past municipal year.

11. Formal Business of Council - Allocation to Seats and Appointments to the Council Structure and Other Bodies for 2019/20 and Allocation of Motions

With reference to the recommendations contained at paragraph 18 of the report at page 5 of the supplementary Council papers, Councillor Aspden moved the recommendations, which were seconded by Councillor D'Agorne, namely the allocation of places and Councillors to Committees and other bodies for 2019/20 as shown in the republished papers circulated at the meeting, as well as the proposed allocation of motions for consideration at Ordinary Full Council meetings for the 2019/20 municipal year.

It was then:

Resolved: That Council;

- I. Agrees the allocation of seats in accordance with Annex A;
- II. Approves appropriate nominations to Committees and other bodies, as well as appointments to Chairs and Vice-Chairs, as set out in this report and its annexes, together with details of any nominations and appointments which may be circulated prior to the meeting;
- III. Approves the proposed allocation of motions for consideration at Ordinary Full Council meetings for the period 2019-2023
- IV. Delegates approval of the terms of reference for the Climate Change Scrutiny Committee to the Interim Monitoring Officer, in consultation with the Council Leader and Chair of Climate Change Scrutiny Committee, subject to the relevant changes made to the Constitution being reported back to Council in due course.
- Reason: To fulfil the Council's statutory and constitutional requirements.

Cllr Janet Looker Lord Mayor of York [The meeting started at 11.00 am and concluded at 12.20 pm]